In Texas, a conviction for driving while impaired (DWI) can lead to a variety of consequences. Some individuals with a DWI conviction are required to take a Texas DPS-approved DWI safety class online or in person. Read on to learn more.
In order to comply with the penalty requirements for DWIs under Texas law, many people must participate in a community supervision program (commonly called “probation”), which includes attending a DWI safety education class. The law states that in certain cases, DWI offenders have to enroll in and successfully complete an educational program certified by the State in order for their driver’s licenses not to be revoked/suspended indefinitely. There are different programs for first-time offenders and repeat offenders–DWI safety education programs include classes for individuals convicted of first-offense DWI and are 12 hours long, while DWI intervention programs are offered for repeat offenders and are 32 hours long. If the offender is a minor, he or she would need to find an alcohol awareness course specifically for underage people; these courses are usually 6 hours long. (See Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Ch. 42A.)
Alcohol, DWI, and Drug Education Course Providers in Texas
If you have been searching online for “DWI education class near me,” the classes in your search results may not qualify as Texas DPS-approved classes. If you want to ensure the offender education course you choose will be accepted by the State, visit the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) for their online database of Offender Education Programs in Texas. You will find a catalog of course providers that is searchable by course type, city, county, and zip code.
Driving while impaired can be serious and have far-reaching negative impacts. If you drive while under the influence of an illegal substance, you could get arrested, or worse: you could be involved in a traffic crash that causes serious injury or death to yourself or others. If you are convicted of this crime and have the opportunity to attend a DWI education course, consider it a chance to make better decisions in the future.
If you or a loved one has been charged with driving while impaired in Houston, Texas, or the surrounding area, reach out immediately to a skilled lawyer like the counsel at Collin Evans Law. Collin Evans is a reputable criminal defense attorney with over a decade of experience handling DWI-related cases; he will be able to review the details of your case and help you understand how he can help you with your defense. Having a competent and caring lawyer who has had success handling DWI cases is important when it comes to fighting Texas DWI charges because the process can be complicated, lengthy and confusing. If you find yourself in need of an attorney’s services to fight DWI charges and reach an optimal outcome in your case, reach out to Collin Evans Law for assistance. Contact Attorney Collin Evans online at any time or by calling 713-225-0650 to discuss your case.