Payment Plan DWI Lawyer Houston. Driving While Intoxicated offenses can have lasting consequences on an individual’s personal and professional life. In the State of Texas, an individual can be arrested and charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) if they are suspected of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you have been arrested and charged with DWI in Texas, knowing the law is important when it comes to your DWI defense. Having an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side is the key to understanding how Texas law applies in your specific case.



DWI laws can be found in the Texas Penal Code, Title 10, Chapter 49. Intoxication is defined in Section 49.01 of the law as not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties due to the introduction of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of any of those substances.  The law also defines intoxication at the “per se” legal limit if the arrested driver has a measurable blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher. In Section 49.04, DWI is defined as operating a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated. 



DWI penalties in Texas are some of the harshest in the United States. The range of penalties for a DWI conviction in the Lone Star State can include a monetary fine and jail time. However, the sentence depends on several different factors, such as the number of prior convictions, if any, and the specific circumstances of the offense. The consequences of a Texas DWI conviction can be significant, including impacts on one’s personal life such as car insurance rate hikes, diminished work and educational opportunities, impact on child custody, loss of personal relationships–all on top of the legal punishments that can include the following:


ChargeClassificationJail TimeFine
DWI 1stClass B Misdemeanor6 Months$2,000
DWI 2ndClass A Misdemeanor1 Year$4,000
DWI >= 0.15 BACClass A Misdemeanor1 Year$4,000
DWI w/ Child PassengerState Jail Felony6 months – 2 years$10,000
DWI 3rd or more3rd Degree Felony2 – 10 years$10,000
Intoxication Assault3rd Degree Felony2 – 10 years$10,000
Intoxication Manslaughter2nd Degree Felony2 – 20 years$10,000


The above ranges of penalties are the maximum amount of punishment for each type of charge.  Every case is different and the specifics of the allegation against you and your situation can have on impact on the final outcome.  


Pull Up a Chair: Your Free Consultation with Houston DWI Lawyer – Collin Evans



If you are charged with a DWI in Texas, contacting an experienced Texas DWI lawyer should be your first step forward in your case. A lawyer dedicated to DWI defense has the knowledge and skills and the experience needed to build a defense according to the specific details of your case. Maybe law enforcement officers arrested you and failed to give you Miranda warnings, or the arresting officer claims that he or she observed clues of intoxication while administering the field sobriety tests that never occurred and conducted an illegal arrest, or some other error. Every Texas DWI case can be defended. From violations of your Constitutional rights and field sobriety test defenses to breath and blood draw defenses and lack of witnesses to who was driving the vehicle, your DWI attorney can help with discovering the appropriate defense to your DWI case and make a compelling presentation that is effective to fight for the best possible outcome in your situation.

Payment Plan DWI Lawyer Houston. When you meet with your attorney to evaluate your DWI charges, you should be able to discuss the costs before proceeding with your case because the arrest is undoubtably an unanticipated expense. Caring attorneys understand that legal expenses that you face unexpectedly can strain your budget. If you are in need of legal services in the greater Houston, Texas area, know that Collin Evans Law offers information about how to pay for your DWI defense in Houston.  There are payment options to make sure the high-quality representation you deserve is accessible to you. Collin Evans is a Houston DWI attorney with over a decade of experience and success handling DWI cases in Harris, Fort Bend, Montgomery, Galveston, Brazoria, and Waller Counties. He can help you navigate Texas DWI laws and understand your rights. To discuss your legal situation and set up a payment plan for your Houston DWI attorney, contact Houston criminal attorney Collin Evans at any time online, or by calling Collin Evans Law, to schedule a free consultation regarding your DWI case.