There are some states throughout the country that have imposed more serious punishments for drunk driving charges involving aggravating factors and Texas is one of them. For a first-time offender in Texas, a DWI charge is considered a Class B misdemeanor and can lead to up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000.  Other factors and circumstances can raise the punishment to a Class A misdemeanor or even up to a felony and a DWI lawyer in Houston can help explain whether the following factors could increase your punishment:

*A blood alcohol concentration level that is 0.15 or greater

*BAC of 0.08 or more with a minor child under 15 years old in the vehicle

*Prior DWI convictions

*Driving a school bus intoxicated

*Serious injury/death

*Causing serious bodily injury to a peace officer, emergency medical personnel, firefighter or judge

If someone is stopped for drunk driving, they could end up facing additional charges if any of the following applies:

*They have no valid driver’s license

*Does not have an insurance policy

*Another individual was seriously/fatally injured or property damage occurred

Some of the most basic penalties associated with a felony DWI charge include the following:

*Incarceration

*Community service

*Extensive probation term

*Higher fines

*Revocation of driver’s license for longer periods

*Ignition interlock device installation

*Holding vehicle in impound as evidence

Thank you for visiting the Collin Evan’s blog, the dwi lawyer in houston. We write to inform people about law changes, current news and events.