Texas Theft Penalties – Texas state law defines theft as the unlawful appropriation of property by an individual who intends to deprive the owner of that property and any benefits that could be derived from it. If someone commits the crime of theft in Texas, it will be classified either as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the value of the property that was allegedly stolen. Theft is classified as a misdemeanor when the stolen property has a financial value of a lesser amount when compared with thefts classified as felonies. The punishments for theft differ between misdemeanors and felonies, as well as within each of those categories.
Theft charges in Texas include misdemeanors from Class C to Class A. Class A misdemeanor theft involves stolen property valued between $750 and $2,500. The penalty for this crime is a fine of up to $4,000 and/or up to a year in county jail. Class B misdemeanor theft is when someone steals property worth $100 to $750. It may result in a fine up to $2,000 and/or up to 180 days in county jail. Class C misdemeanor theft is when stolen property is valued at an amount less than $100. The penalty for this crime is a fine of up to $500 and no jail time is involved for this level of theft.
Felony theft generally results in more serious penalties than misdemeanor theft. There are four classifications of felony theft in Texas. State jail felony theft involves allegedly stealing property valued at $2,500 or more, but less than $30,000. This crime may result in state jail time from six months to two years, as well as a possible fine of up to $10,000. Besides this classification, there are also first through third degree felony theft.
First degree felony theft is when property worth $300,000 or more, but less than $200,000 is taken. This crime is punishable from 5 to 99 years or life in a Texas prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Second Degree Felony theft is when someone allegedly steals property worth between $150,000 and $300,000. In Texas, this crime may result in two to 20 years in state prison and a possible fine of up to $10,000. Third Degree Felony theft is when someone steals property valued between $30,000 and $150,000. The punishment for this is between two to ten years of prison time and a possible fine of up to $10,000.
Theft Charges in Texas: How to Get Them Dropped
Texas Theft Penalties – At the Law Office of Collin Evans, we understand that if you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with theft, you will likely have a lot of questions about what happens next. Collin Evans is a Houston, Texas-based criminal defense attorney you can trust to help you navigate the process. He is a caring and knowledgeable attorney with over a decade of experience handling a wide variety of criminal cases in Texas, including those involving theft. If you are in need of legal assistance in the Houston area, do not hesitate to contact Collin Evans online or by phone at 713-225-0650 for a free consultation, and to discuss how he can help you reach the best possible outcome in your case.